M. Roy Wilson was selected as Wayne State's 12th president in June 2013, joining the university to build on an impactful career in medicine and higher education.

The President's Cabinet comprises 12 officials who lead key academic and operational divisions throughout the university, including Finance and Business Operations, Educational Outreach and International Programs, Research, Government and Community Affairs, and more.

Wayne State University is governed by an eight-member Board of Governors elected by Michigan voters. The board's key responsibilities include choosing the university presidents, supervising the control and direction of university funds, setting tuition and other fiscal policies, determining compensation for services, and conferring degrees.