Tuition and fee information
Spring/Summer Tuition Break
Attending class year-round not only makes graduation arrive sooner but also helps students save money. This award allows undergraduate students to qualify for a 30 percent tuition discount toward spring/summer classes. To be eligible, students must have registered and be on track to complete 24 credits between Fall 2016 and Winter 2017, and must have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 2.5 at the end of Fall 2016. Final evaluation of eligibility will be determined after the census date. Post-bachelor students may qualify if they meet requirements. Please note that the Spring/Summer Tuition Break cannot be combined with other tuition discounts (including employee and dependent discounts, senior citizen discounts and the Great Lakes Award) and will be applied as a financial aid award, which may affect a student's spring/summer federal and institutional aid.
To further support students who qualify for this tuition discount, campus housing also will be discounted 30 percent for those students who want to live on campus during the 2017 spring/summer terms.
Students with questions about the Spring/Summer Tuition Break should contact the Student Service Center at 313-577-2100 or email@example.com. Students should contact Housing at 313-577-2116 or firstname.lastname@example.org for questions regarding the housing discount.
How much will this cost?
Wayne State students are assessed tuition each semester based on their residency, credit hours, year in school, division status, academic program, and school or college. See the Tuition and Fee Schedule (PDF) for detailed information. Students can also determine specific costs by using the Tuition and Fee Calculator.
Tuition Equity Program: In-state tuition
Michigan boasts 15 excellent public universities, each with a strong focus on educating the leaders, thinkers and creators of the future. As a key institution on that list, Wayne State is pleased to offer in-state tuition rates to Michigan residents. In addition, students who attend and graduate from Michigan high schools or have U.S. military service status may also qualify for in-state tuition. And those living in states or provinces bordering a Great Lake may be eligible for in-state tuition plus 10 percent.
Learn more about qualifying for in-state tuition.
Reduced tuition for senior citizens (excludes law, M.D. and Pharm.D. programs)
Students age 60 or older are entitled to a 75 percent reduction of the regular tuition rate.
- Students are responsible for the entire amount of the registration, fitness center and student service fees, as well as any additional class-related fees.
- Eligible students must submit proof of age (e.g., copy of Michigan driver's license or birth certificate) by mailing it to:
Records and Registration
5057 Woodward, fifth floor
Detroit, MI 48202
Documents can also be faxed to 313-577-7870 with name and ID number included.
Students will automatically be billed a $250 matriculation fee at the time tuition and fees are assessed, regardless of orientation program attendance. This fee covers the cost of orientation, graduation and commencement.
The registration fee is charged to all students every semester. Any student registering after the early priority registration dates (as indicated on the registration calendar) will be charged a $35 late-registration fee if completed before the start of classes and $70 if completed after the start of classes. Please refer to the Registration Calendar for specific tuition cancellation dates.
Course material fees
Courses listed as having special fees require certain payments in addition to tuition. The fee may be canceled when the course is officially dropped within the tuition cancellation period. Contact the department offering the course for more information.
Student service fee
The student service fee is primarily used to maintain, upgrade and replace student computing and technology resources on campus. A small portion is also used to fund student activities on campus and enhance programs directed toward improving on-campus activities, including athletics. The student service fee is assessed to all students. Please refer to the tuition and fee schedule for the current term's rate.
Tuition is based in part on division status, which is determined by the number of credits an undergraduate has completed.
- Freshman: 0 – 28.99 credits, inclusive
- Sophomore: 29 – 55.99 credits, inclusive
- Junior: 56 – 87.99 credits, inclusive
- Senior: 88 credits and above