Qualifying for in-state tuition

Eligibility requirements

There are three ways to establish if you qualify for in-state tuition at WSU:

  1. Residence in the state of Michigan

    If you have established residency in the state of Michigan for purposes that are unrelated to education and have been in the state for more than six months prior to the start of a term, you may qualify for in-state tuition on the basis of Michigan residence.

  2. Attendance at a Michigan high school

    If you graduated from a Michigan high school (or earned a GED) after having attended for at least three years and enrolling at WSU within 28 months after graduation or GED completion, you are eligible for in-state tuition. You don't need to be a legal resident of Michigan or a citizen of the United States to qualify for in-state tuition on this basis.

  3. Military service status

    If you are serving in the U.S. military and stationed in Michigan, you and your dependents are eligible for in-state tuition. Veterans and their dependents also are eligible for in-state tuition.

Policy details

Current rules and regulations regarding the in-state tuition policy can be found in the Undergraduate Bulletin. Rules and regulations are subject to change without notice by action of the Board of Governors. The university reserves the right to correct errors in a student's classification at any time.

Challenging in-state classification

After enrolling, you may challenge the initial classification made by the Office of Admissions by filing an Application for Residence Classification (PDF). See the form for deadlines and directions. Call Records and Registration at 313- 577-8193 with questions.

Great Lakes Award

Undergraduate students who are residents of a state or province bordering a Great Lake will enjoy an award that reduces the out-of-state tuition rate. Great Lakes Award recipients will receive the benefit of the Michigan resident tuition rate plus 10 percent. Degree-seeking students from Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin or Ontario are eligible to receive this award.

Graduate students who are residents of designated areas in Ohio and Ontario may be eligible for Wayne State's Good Neighbor Policy.