Women of Wayne 44th Annual Headliner Awards Program honors outstanding Wayne State University alumnae

April 16, 2010

DETROIT - April 16, 2010 -- The Women of Wayne Alumni Association will host its annual Headliner Award luncheon and program on Saturday, May 1. For 44 years, the Headliner Awards have been presented to Wayne State University alumnae whose achievements have made headlines in the media during the preceding year. The award acknowledges Wayne State women who make their mark in society. 

This year's honorees are: Saunteel Jenkins, Detroit, Detroit City Council; Brenda Jones, Detroit, Detroit City Council; Sonya Tayeh, North Hollywood, Calif., choreographer, entertainment industry; and Kimberly Trent, Detroit, director for Governor's Office for Southeast Michigan. 

The service award has been presented annually since 1960 to a Women of Wayne member who has given significant service to the organization, Wayne State University and the community. This year's recipient is Zenarr Clopton of Sterling Heights.

The Women of Wayne Headliners luncheon and program will begin at 11 a.m. at Meadowbrook Country Club in Northville. Cost is $35. For reservations, call (313) 577-2300. 

The Wayne State University Alumni Association has been building loyalty and support among alumni for more than 70 years. No matter where they are in life or in the world, alumni association members stay connected through special events, personal and professional development, exclusive discounts, member-only publications and many other benefits. For more information about the Wayne State University Alumni Association, visit or call (313) 577-2300.

Wayne State University is a premier urban research university offering more than 350 academic programs through 13 schools and colleges to nearly 32,000 students.