Site search
Search type


Students and faculty members recognized at College of Engineering Honors Convocation

May 6, 2013

DETROIT (May 6, 2013) – Wayne State University College of Engineering students and faculty  members were recognized for their accomplishments at the college’s Honors Convocation, held last month at the Detroit Yacht Club. More than 200 awards and scholarships were presented by the Engineering Student Faculty Board (ESFB), Engineering Alumni Association (EAA) and Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society.

Students Tricia Fernandez, electrical and computer engineering; Radovan Dimovski, chemical engineering and materials science; and Brien Dux, mechanical engineering, received the Robert G. Wingerter Award, the highest recognition and honor given by the College of Engineering to graduating seniors who have excelled in character, leadership and scholastic ability.

Brandon Horsch was named Outstanding Freshman/Sophomore, Radovan Dimovski was named Outstanding Senior and Andrii Kashliev was named Outstanding Graduate Student by the EAA. Maria Guido and Brandon Horsch were awarded Tau Beta Pi’s Outstanding Freshman/Sophomore Scholarship.

The ESFB recognized the American Institute of Chemical Engineers with the Michael Darson Award for Outstanding Student Organization. The ESFB also named new officers for 2013-14: President Maha Fakherddine, biomedical engineering; Vice President Maria Guido, mechanical engineering; Secretary Brandon Heid, mechanical engineering; Treasurer Aliya Jawad, biomedical engineering; and Student Senate Representative Maheen Asghar, civil engineering.

Additionally, 325 students were recognized for placement on the Dean’s Honor List.

Outstanding Faculty Service Awards were presented to Research Associate Anne Clayton, biomedical engineering; Associate Professor Steve Salley, chemical engineering and materials science; Associate Professor Christopher Eamon, civil and environmental engineering; Assistant Professor Marwan Abi-Antou, computer science; Assistant Professor Amar Basu, electrical and computer engineering; Associate Professor Jerry Ku, electric-drive vehicle engineering; Assistant Professor Alper Murat, industrial and systems engineering; and Assistant Professor Marcis Jansons, mechanical engineering.

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Service Awards were presented to Dalia Alzebdeh, biomedical engineering; Hao Qin, chemical engineering and materials science; Mohsen Sadatian, civil and environmental engineering; Safraz Rampersaud, computer science; Kun Wang, electrical and computer engineering; Mahyar Movahednejad, industrial and systems engineering; and Shahram Amoozegar, mechanical engineering.

Elizabeth Buc, Ph.D. ChE ’04, a well-known expert in chemistry, hazardous materials, metallurgical failure analysis, and fire and explosion investigations, served as the keynote speaker. Buc works as a materials engineer/fire investigator at Fire and Materials Research laboratory, LLC.

View photos from Honors Convocation here:

Wayne State University is a premier urban research institution of higher education offering 370 academic programs through 13 schools and colleges to nearly 29,000 students. For more information about engineering at Wayne State University, visit