Site search
Search type


2004 Community Peacemaker Awards announced

November 3, 2004

Each year Wayne State University's Center for Peace & Conflict Studies (CPCS), in the College of Urban, Labor and Metropolitan Affairs (CULMA), hosts the Community Peacemaker Awards in celebration of those who have made a difference for peace and social understanding in the Detroit community.

This year, the Community Peacemaker Awards recipients will include: Alan Amen of Wayne County; Harriet Saperstein of HP Devco, Inc.; Ariela Shani of Neiman Marcus; Andrea Williams of Detroit Public Schools; and Kym Worthy of Wayne County. David Bonior, university professor of urban and labor studies at Wayne State, will serve as the guest speaker for the evening and discuss "Grassroots Peacemaking."

Past recipients of the Community Peacemaker Awards include: Eleanor Josaitis; Bishop Thomas Gumbleton; Lasker Smith; Huel Perkins; Kary Moss; Judge Claudia Morcom; Richard Lobenthal; Zoltan Ferency; Pastor Marvin Winans; William Beckham; Mary Ball; Judge B. Pennie Millender; Rev. John T. Nowlan, Jackie Victor; Joann Watson; Otto Feinstein and organizations including the Michigan Coalition for Human Rights; the National Conference for Community and Justice; and the Cranbrook Peace Foundation.

The Community Peacemaker Awards reception will take place on Nov. 18, in room L and M of Wayne State's McGregor Memorial Conference Center, 495 W. Ferry Mall, at 6:30 p.m. Hors d'oeuvres and light refreshments will be served. Parking is available in the Palmer Street and the Anthony Wayne Drive structures for a charge of $3.25.

The event is free of charge and open to the public. Interested parties must RSVP to CPCS at (313) 577-3453 by Nov. 12.

For more information, please visit