In the news

WSU president among 2012 Shining Light Regional Cooperation Award recipients

October 11, 2012

More than 375 regional leaders are gathering in Dearborn today to honor four people for their contributions to southeast Michigan. The 2012 Shining Light Regional Cooperation Awards are being presented today to the president of Wayne State University, the executive director of the Detroit Branch of the NAACP, the head of the region's visitor's bureau and a local accountant who helps needy families. The awards are presented by the Detroit Free Press and the Metropolitan Affairs Coalition. Wayne State University President Allan Gilmour is the recipient of The Neal Shine Award for Exemplary Regional Leadership, for decades of community service and stepping into the breach when WSU was looking for new leadership. A video of President Gilmour is featured.