Research subcommittee


Updated June 8 2020

  • A phased-in resumption of limited and approved on-site lab activities began June 1-5 and included a select number of university facilities. The next segment of this initial restart phase began June 8 and will continue through June 19. A date of lists and sites is available online
  • Each individual authorized for access must complete the Campus Daily Screener each day they are scheduled to come on site. Upon completion of screener, an online barcode is issued that is scanned at the Wayne State University research sites upon entrance.
  • All approved individuals coming on-site must have completed and passed the Be Warrior Safe training module.
  • On-site, lab-based research activities will not be "business as usual". Buildings and units that do not follow occupancy limits and operational guidelines may have their authorization suspended during this initial phase of activity. These measured steps will continue during the summer and into the fall.
  • More information is available on Research's coronavirus page and the Wayne State University coronavirus site.

Updated May 28, 2020 

  • Principles and guidelines for a phased ramp-up of on-site, laboratory-based research activities were developed and posted May 11, 2020, with specific action items.
  • The governor's Executive Order 2020-90, which approved resumption of laboratory research, went into effect May 16.
  • A phased implementation process for on-site, laboratory-based research activities was initiated in accordance with the May 11 principles and guidelines and the governor's Executive Order 2020-90. 


To review and update operational processes and procedures to ramp up research activities being developed for each element in accordance with directives from the Governor of the State of Michigan and university policy as the governor provides clearance to do so.

Subcommittee members 

Steve Lanier (chair), VP Research

  • Fei Chen, professor, Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences *
  • Phil Cunningham, associate vice president, Research Integrity and Environmental Safety
  • Denise Figlewicz, assistan vice president, Research Enhancement and Development
  • Rafael Fridman, professor of pathology, next president of School of Medicine Faculty Senate, Senate representative*
  • Linda Hazlett, professor and Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine *
  • Smiti Gupta, associate professor, Nutrition and Food Science, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences*
  • Gerry Hish, assistant vice president, Laboratory Animal Resources
  • Peter Hoffman, professor and chair of Department of Physics, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences*
  • Phil Levy, professor, School of Medicine, and associate chair for research, Department of Emergency Medicine *
  • Karin List, professor, Department of Pharmacology, School of Medicine*
  • Steven Odersma, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences, Dep. Director, Merrill-Palmer Skillman Inst.*
  • Charles Parrish, professor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, union representative*
  • Noreen Rossi, professor of physiology and internal medicine, School of Medicine, Senate representative*
  • Weisong Shi, professor and associate dean, College of Engineering *
  • Tim Stemmler, professor, Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and assistant vice president for Integrative Biosciences *
  • Claudio Verani, professor and associate dean for research, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences *

(*Denotes faculty member)

Subject matter resource experts for integration in specific areas

Operational support

  • Human Research Protection Program — Manuel Tancer, professor, School of Medicine *
  • Facilities — Rob Davenport, associate vice president, Facilities Planning and Management
  • Purchasing and Supplies — Ken Doherty, associate vice president of Business Services and Procurement and Strategic Sourcing
  • Research Core directors
  • Research Integrity and Office of Environmental Health and Safety (OEHS) — Phil Cunningham, associate vice president for Research, and Rob Moon, director, OEHS
  • Research Operations — Antonio Yancey, associate vice president, Research
  • Research Funding Program Coordination — Denise Figlewicz, assistant vice president, Research
  • VPR Leadership Team
  • Trainees (graduate students and postdocs) — Sharon Lean, Todd Leff and Sokol Todi, associate deans, Graduate School