Wayne State University is governed by an eight-member Board of Governors elected by Michigan Voters. Key responsibilities of the board include but are not limited to: Choosing the president of the University, supervising the control and direction of University funds, setting tuition and other fiscal policies, determining compensation for services and conferring degrees. 


M. Roy Wilson

M. Roy Wilson, M.D., M.S., was unanimously elected president of Wayne State University by the Board of Governors on June 5, 2013. He assumed the presidency on August 1, 2013.

BOG members

President's Cabinet

  • Margaret E. Winters
  • Marquita T. Chamblee
  • Ahmad Ezzeddine
  • Chacona W. Johnson
  • Rob Kohrman
  • Stephen M. Lanier
  • Louis Lessem
  • Patrick O. Lindsey
  • Julie H. Miller
  • Rick Nork
  • Jack Sobel
  • Ned Staebler
  • Michael Wright

Cabinet contact information


Margaret E. Winters

Margaret E. Winters has been at Wayne State since 2002. She became provost after holding other administrative positions, including associate provost for academic personnel and founding chair of the Department of Classical and Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures (CMLLC). She was also chair of Romance Languages and Literatures. From 1977-2002 she worked at Southern Illinois University Carbondale both in administration and as a faculty member.

Executive administration sites

Organizational charts